top of page
Featured posts...

Let's Talk About...

DESIGNING A EXERCISE/TRAINING PLAN FOR YOUR HORSE

While you might be deciding what you're going to do with your horse for the next day, try making a chart for the month. It's the easiest to do.

How do I make a chart? Get a simple calendar and start to mark down what you're going to do for the week, or for the month. If you work or have your horse boarded at a barn with other people, you should sit down and talk with them if they want to schedule arena time for the week.

Okay...but I need an exercise plan. Coming up with a training or exercise plan can be confusing. Trust me, I know. But I've decided to work him in the harness and cart every other day until he gets used to working with it. Smaller ponies can't be ridden, unless it's by small children. How do you exercise them? Lunge them, or lead them over cross-jumps. Cross-jumps are good for their back and it's fun for them. Bigger horses can, of course, be ridden and trained while you're riding them.

I board my horse at a barn and I don't see him every day...what do I do? See if you can ask a fellow boarder to exercise him with specific instructions. In trade, you can exercise their horse whenever they aren't able to be at the barn. Or if you're there only every other day, it's good to give your horse a break.

Should I give my horse breaks all the time? It's good for them to get breaks every now and then. Try only giving them breaks every other day. When you don't want to necessarily give him a break, give him a break from riding. Try trick training.

Making an exercise log (I made a link to an example at the bottom, along with an exercise calendar) is simple. Use a spreadsheet online and type out a log for your horse. Put his name and the month at the top, then below that, the date, exercise, notes and special instructions, in case you keep your horse at a barn. Print it out and keep it in your horse's medical binder. If you need another boarder to exercise your horse, tell them about the calendar and the spreadsheet.

Designing a training chart is pretty simple, but super handy to have. I just made one for Neville and I love it already.

If you own a boarding center, have a meeting with your boarders about arena time. Have each of them reserve arena time and keep a monthly schedule on hand. Also have your boarders check in and out of the arena, so you know who was there and who wasn't.

Monthly training calendar: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7cw6xpes61pvllo/neville%20schedule.xlsx?dl=0 Training Log: https://www.dropbox.com/s/dbmmlgcnzed5jix/Book1.xlsx?dl=0

If you use any of the calendars or training logs on your blog or site, please give credit to The Equestrian Author. Thanks!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page