top of page
Featured posts...

Even Chickens Like Hay


Thursday night, we had a hay crisis. My dad was going out to eat with his cousin and his brother and he was supposed to feed Neville because I was at Bible study at my church. Earlier that day, I had a little less than half a bale left, which was supposed last me until yesterday morning. But dad was in a hurry and went ahead and threw the flake and a half that I had left in the morning.

So, Dad texted Mom saying we were out of hay around 6 o'clock. Neville has four feeding a day; 8 o'clock, 12 o'clock, 5 o'clock and 9 o'clock. We texted the lady we usually get hay off of at 9 o'clock, still looking for hay. She said that our neighbor just bought the last of the older hay and that she only had hay she baled three days ago. She said it wouldn't be best not to feed it to Neville.

Well, there goes that idea.

We ended up texting one of the ladies who work at the barn and she said we could get hay. We talked for a long time and feed Neville at 10:30. Let's just say, he was a pretty happy boy when he got his dinner.

Earlier today, I went to get Neville is hay at 5 and a chicken was laying in the hay, just looking at me like she's done nothing wrong. I shooed her away and gave Neville his hay.

After that, I went back in to get a piece of bailing twine and she was in there again, eating hay. I picked her up and put her outside of the trailer. I guess chickens like hay sometimes, too.


Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page